To Champion a cat you must show the cat at a registered cat
show. (ie; ACFA, CFA, TICA...) and it must fit the written standard
for that association. It cannot be disqualified. It must earn winners
ribbons (4 in ACFA) to become a Champion. 8 ribbons is double
Champion, 12 triple champion and 16 makes it a quad champion.
The cat has to earn 16 winners ribbons before it can become a
Grand Champion. To "Grand" a cat they must also be finalled under
6 different judges. (Some cats achieve the finals before they get
their winners ribbons.) In any case, it takes 16 winners ribbons and
6 finals under 6 different judges to Grand a cat in ACFA.
What it means to have a
Champion or Grand Champion title
Many people ask why pure bred cats cost so much. This is a
small example of what a reputable breeder is doing to insure you
are getting a quality cat. Please beware, there are many
breeders out there that are breeding and not showing. For them
it is about making money not producing quality Maine Coon Cats.
Don't be afraid to ask questions